Coconut-cheesy cups






I have had a goal in my life these lasts few days: to nail a French macaron recipe!
So far I tried three different recipes and dedicated three day of my life for the project, and the result was… not very satisfying.
I need to get this right because that’s what I want to take to the Christmas party that I was invited to, and I will be very disappointed if I have to buy French macaron at Starbucks before the party.
When I’m done with my attempts I’ll post the recipe that worked best for me and I’ll try to convince you to never do it yourself…


But for now an easy and delicious Brazilian treat, the name is queijadinha, and I have no idea how to translate it, so I made this new name up that is actually more suitable for the dish!
Your queijadinha should be crunch in the top and moist in the bottom, and very good from top to bottom!
For this recipe you will have to use sweetened condensed milk, and this is not a very usual ingredient in the American cuisine, but with all the Mexican and Asian influences this ingredient is becoming more and more known. And with that it is getting easier to find. Just last week I saw condensed milk at Safeway for the first time! Before that I used to buy at Mexican markets. It’s basic evaporated milk with a lot of sugar, so it’s very sweet!

To cook listening to João Gilberto


Coconut-cheese cups
Serves 12


1 Can of condensed milk
100g of shredded sweetened coconut
2 Tablespoons of Parmesan cheese
2 Egg yolks
12 Big cupcake cups or 24 small cupcake cups


Preheat oven at 350F Degrees.
Prep: Arrange the cupcake cups in a cup muffin baking sheet, and place this muffin baking sheet inside another bigger regular baking sheet. I used my turkey baking sheet.
Boil enough water to go halfway through the cupcake length.
In a medium bowl mix all the ingredients together, then scoop the coconut mixture in the 12 cupcake cups. I used an icecream scoop to do this job, it is much easier.
Pour the boil water in the bigger baking sheet, place the muffin baking sheet inside and both in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the coconut-cheese cups starts to brown on top.
After cooling down remove the cups and bom apetite!

Published in: on December 23, 2009 at 7:16 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cookinginside.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/coconut-cheesy-cups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment