Quindim





This is my husband’s favorite single thing to eat!
We have been living in the US for almost three years, and for two and a half years he would ask me every week to make this for him. And I know, I’m a bad wife I never did it before. And the reason why I never did before, is because I thought it was difficult to make and to be honest, I’m not crazy about this desert, but all others Brazilians are, so here it goes.

Quindim is basically egg yolks and sugar, like all the other Portuguese origin sweets. But my favorite part is the crunchy coconut bed that is formed in the bottom.

The picture that you are seeing is half recipe, but the recipe that I am providing is the full recipe, ok?

The first time I made it, I made in individual portions, they look way more cute, and it is a lot more work. But doing like I’m doing now is actually really easy. In that first time I didn’t have time to take pictures before my husband ate all the little quindins like the world was about to end. I think he approved the recipe.

Now I did what we Brazilians call quindão, one big quindim recipe.

The quindim has to have a strong yellow color, has to be shiny and moist and the coconut in the bottom has to be crunchy and have a brownish color.

Oh, and the pronounciation is like “keendeen”.





Quindim


2 Cups of water
3 Cups of sugar + sugar for sprinkle
50 g Butter + butter for grease
14 Egg yolks
2 Eggs
2 Cups of sweetened shredded coconut

Heat water and sugar in a medium pan, stir until the sugar dissolves and let it boil for about 6 minutes, when it starts to thicken a little. Take out from the stove, add the butter and let it cool down.

Preheat the oven to 350 Degrees.

Strain the egg yolks and eggs in a bowl (with this you will get rid off the strong egg taste) and add the sugar syrup, then add the coconut and stir all together.

To cook this you will have to use the hot water bath technique, so boil 1 liter of water (or enough to cover half way up in the cake form) and cover a baking sheet (big enough to fit the cake form, like the ones for lasagna) with two sheet of aluminum foil.
Grease with butter one round cake form (those with a hole in the middle), sprinkle sugar over the butter and remove the excess sugar, then pour the egg mixture.
Place the boiling water over the baking sheet, place the cake form inside and take it to the oven.

Cook for 50 minutes or until the coconut bed that forms on top starts to get brown and crunch. Take out of the oven, let cool for a couple of minutes and turn the quindim over a serving plate while still warm. Let it cool completely, then refrigerate for at least 4 hour or up to 48 hour and bom apetite!

Published in: on January 22, 2010 at 8:48 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cookinginside.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/quindim/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Fala sério moça… this is perfect!
    I love this dessert. My favorite ever!
    Congrats for you guys, for different reasons! 🙂

    Bjs
    Naritcha

  2. […] a pudding? Never mind. It will reduce your life span, but it is absolutely mind blowing. Try this recipe from Cooking […]


Leave a Reply

